top of page
  • Writer's pictureShatakshi Ranjan

Spirit Songs

Updated: May 3


Posters or album covers of Zindagi na milegi dobara, AJR, StrayKids, KDA


Going down the notalgic route, Khaabon Ke Parindey from the Bollywood movie Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara is a song that has stayed with me since my early teen years. I was initially drawn to the soft melodic vocals accompanied by the soothing instrumental background. The instrument and vocals work well together to create a dreamy atmosphere.

Upon understanding the song, the lyrics spoke to me. The music is free-spirited and optimistic, with the overarching theme of romanticizing the notion of living in the moment. As someone who loves getting lost and exploring new places, "kya pata jayenge kahan" and "jahan bhi leke jaaye aarazoo" directly translating to "who knows where they'll go" and "wherever your desire takes you," made the song relatable. Furthermore, the visuals in the music video represent the wanderlust feeling, with a group of friends enjoying a scenic road trip.


Another song that lifts my mood is Surfin by the Korean band, Stray Kids. As someone who has lived by the sea, the lyric "I got ninety-nine problems, but the sea ain't one" was something that spoke to me. Whether to hang out with my friends, take my dog for a walk, or destress, I love going to the beach. Running into the cool, refreshing water and having the waves crash into you or walking along the shore; the sea, like the song, has a way of tenfold improving my mood.

The song is energetic and fun to dance to, so I listen to it to lift my spirits and bust out a few moves. The music video follows a bright concept, and it's entertaining to watch the singers mess around.


K/DA from League of Legends is a band I enjoy listening to when it comes to bands based on video game characters. I especially love listening to Drum Go Dum!

Like the songs mentioned above, it is very free-spirited and energetic, but it has an edge. The song has a rebellious side, evident through the iconic line "said I wanted to fly so I went and got some wings." This song excites my competitive side. It exudes an empowering vibe, and the explosive rhythm makes it enjoyable to dance to.


Bummerland isn't a very happy song, but it's hilarious and has fun, goofy music. AJR's lyrics are about the monotony of life. This song, in particular, was about hitting rock bottom, but the artist has a different perspective. The theme revolves around the fact that there is no going lower than this, so you will be "only going up from here."

On a more comedic note, there is a part of the song that I found myself relating to. "It's sad, but I've been alone for too long, so I keep getting haircuts," reminded me of a time during the pandemic when I was alone for so long that I wanted to experiment with how I looked, and one of those outlets was my hair. My hair progressively got shorter until it resembled Zendaya's fade and mushroom cut during the release of her album Something New.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page