top of page
  • Writer's pictureShatakshi Ranjan

It started off as curiosity, now it's love!

Updated: Sep 26, 2022



 

Transcript:


It was like any other day for a 9th grader; I had arrived at school and was walking with a friend to the first class of the day. On our way, we came across several of our seniors walking with huge rucksacks on their backs. As we passed them, I distinctly remember my friend saying, "Oh yeah, didn't we have this program that takes students out for hiking and camping? Why would people willingly put themselves through such agony…." The following year, this program was offered to us, and I did not miss the opportunity to shock her by signing myself up.


The program was the Duke of Edinburgh International awards which had students participate in two expeditions, practice and the “real deal.” The expedition had three-level, bronze, silver, and gold, which took place respectively from 10th grade to 12th grade. As the levels progressed, the expeditions became longer and more difficult.

I quickly found myself in a group of strangers equally curious about these expeditions. We planned who would bring what and learned the basic How to Survive techniques in our workshops. When we found ourselves in the deserts of Kuwait, we quickly realized how fun and daunting camping outside could be. For the most part, we managed to severely under-pack essentials and overpack with things we never used. There were multiple instances where our feet were aching, the weight of the rucksacks would become unbearable, or small arguments would break out. Despite all the problems we faced, I fell in love. I fell in love with camping under the stars. I fell in love with trekking through the most mundane and beautiful places. I fell in love with the difficulty and that adrenaline rush it had to offer. Most importantly, it became a significant achievement that I still look back to.


Before graduating from high school, I had finished expeditions of all levels. I got a chance to go to Jordan, Cyprus, and Italy with a group of friends with whom I had become so close. These were the people I had started as a stranger with, but when put in an environment where we were each other’s support system in the unrelenting wilderness, we had become so comfortable with each other. These trips sparked many platonic and romantic relationships. Because let’s be honest, if you stay with a group of people for a few days straight, coupled with the exhaustion from the hiking, you get to know them at their worst and encourage them to be their best.


While these expeditions do not completely define me as a person, it has become a significant part of my life. It has shaped me into a more confident, outgoing person. It had its unique way of teaching me how to be resourceful and trust my teammates more than any extracurricular activity I’ve taken part in. It definitely made me far more optimistic and grateful for everything around me. On that note, a great example of something I had truly been thankful for was my bed… Ugh, those back-breaking nights on the hard ground shall forever be etched in my memory.


My love for the outdoors didn’t end there! I still find myself jumping on opportunities and have dragged my family into this exhausting yet liberating activity. For everyone tuning in, get out there and have a night under the stars. It truly is an eye-opening experience!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page